Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• truck bed tent help

High need some support.
    I am looking to get a truck bed tent. here are my concerns. I have a 2014 F150 with the 5.5 ft short bed, plan on trying to get a tent that extends to the end of the tailgate. Can you please advise decent tents that may accommodate this? Also can this set up sleep a Dad,mom and 6 year old ok with a air mattress?
    What mattress is best for this? I was looking for the one with the wheel well cut outs to max out the room. We are usually one night campers for now until we can save up for the camper.

Re: truck bed tent help

Sorry, remist, I've no personal knowledge of truck tents......are any made specifically for your truck? If so that sounds like a way to start. As for truck bed air mattresses I've seen them on specialty truck and camping gear sites yet can't say whether it would be wide enough for 3 of you to sleep across. Do a bit of googling, post links to specific gear here and I'm sure someone can help you.
    2017:

July 3 to July 16- annual kiddo trip
    Aug 2 to Aug 14- adult trip to recover from kiddos' outing. Bring on the Campari!

Comment

Most come in two sizes for short bed and long bed trucks. The Kodiak one seems very well made and fits a 5.5 bed:
      http://www.competitiveedgeproducts.c...FQ-raQodngcBuw
      - Laura
      Coleman Dome/Instant Cabin Tents, Kamprite IPS, Shasta Oasis 18ft Travel Trailer

Comment

A big +1 on actad's recommendation for the Kodiak and CompetitiveEdge. They pretty much have the consistently best prices on Kodiak gear. But, regardless of what tent and/or mattress you wind up with, I can't see a short bed pickup being big enough for three people, even when one is a six-year-old. Unless you're all extremely thin, I'm pretty sure it'd be a tight squeeze at best.