National Park Tent Camping Tour

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• National Park Tent Camping Tour

Just finished a lengthy trip through the Black Hills, Tetons, Yellowstone, and Glacier. Thought I would drop a quick summary and a few campground notes.

We used a Eureka Jade Canyon 6 cabin tent. We did a similar trip last summer in this tent through Colorado and Utah and the tent continues to do okay. I'm not a tent expert but it's roomy enough for the four of us in my family and is easy enough to put up and take down. Our weather was mostly dry so we still haven't had to ride out a soaker in this tent.

In the Black Hills, we stayed at Cedar Pass campground in Badlands NP and Custer State Park (Stockade Lake North). Cedar Pass was fine and the surrounding scenery made a great backdrop. Custer SP was fine although I was a little disappointed we couldn't see the lake from the campground.

In the Tetons, we stayed at Colter Bay. I wish the Teton campgrounds would offer at least some reservations but we had to wait in the crazy line and get a site as they opened up. It's an okay location with the general store and restaurants and we were in one of the tent loops so it was plenty quiet. The shower facility didn't have power when I went to take a shower so I got it for free. There was no warm water mind you, but it was free.