Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tent Considerations. Dont Hate Me Because... Im a Newbie.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tent Considerations. Dont Hate Me Because... Im a Newbie.

REI has some great deals on tents right now and frankly, I dont want to go another year with my boyfriends cheap yardsale tent that his nephew peed in.

I am considering two models that are on sale and are around the range I would like to spend. Just wondering if anyone had any advice or opinions on the two I am considering to help me make a good decision.

http://www.rei.com/product/864812/re...l-buy#specsTab

The one above has a history of being a solid tent. My backpacking mag recommends it and all reviews I have seen on it are positive. It would be great for backpacking and also for camping where there are great views. Its all mesh. A little nerve wracking, but not a big deal with the fly added in. Most likely on either of these, I would have the fly on in a campground setting.

The one below is also from a good company but I cant find any reviews on this specific model. It weighs a bit more, but honestly, I dig that it has more room inside and with the vestible. It also has a from what I read a stronger material and a tad bit more privacy without the fly but still decent viewing from within.

http://www.rei.com/product/868730/al...l-buy#specsTab

They are both 3 season, 3 people tents and I want something that will stand up to less optimal weather. Last year the pee tent was horrible on a cold rainy night. I woke up to everything soaking wet. Even though I cant read reviews on the Alps, im kind of leaning that way as I think the slighty higher material durability and space outweigh the extra mesh and lightweight material of the REI quarter dome. I dont want to do all campground camping, but realistic at times.

Grassy Bass!
    REI Quarter Dome
    33.33%
    Alps Helix
    66.67%

Re: Tent Considerations. Dont Hate Me Because... Im a Newbie.