Help With Latern

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help With Latern

I am new to camping and need help deciding on a good battery power latern or a gas one to purchase? Thanks in advance for any help or replies.

Power

Re: Help With Latern

I love the Coleman gas lanterns, but a big part of that affection is nostalgia from my childhood. I have to admit that today's LED and CREE technology has come so far along that you can get just about as much light with batteries as you can with gas and the cost of operation is similar OR the battery lights might even be cheaper to operate than gas.

I have been using CREE LED headlamps a lot lately. Wherever you look LIGHT! That's kinda all you need. I don't need light where I am not looking You don't have to spend a lot of money on LED lights. You CAN spend a lot, but you don't have to. I bought some CREE LED headlamps at my local hardware store for five bucks and they provide ample light.

The gas lights are very bright. The Coleman dual mantle lanterns give off the equivalent of a seventy five watt light bulb. They run for about eight hours on one filling of fuel. They give off considerable heat which is nice in cold weather. Coleman gas lanterns scare away the ghosts, goblins, and Bogeymen.. Jf you do go with a gas lantern, you have several fuel option types: Liquid Coleman fuel, Gasoline, bottled propane.

If you by an old Coleman lantern on Craigslist or a yard sale, you can get them for between five to thirty dollars. They need Coleman fuel which cost about twelve dollars per gallon today. A gallon of Coleman fuel will last most families two or more years. Coleman fuel is very stable and can be stored for years.