Another Learning Experience On The Trail

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Learning Experience On The Trail

What an experience I had with Billy on a scheduled “over-nighter” up at Deadfall Lakes this last week. The schedule was to leave here Monday evening, return Wednesday afternoon.
    First, I adhere to the philosophy, “I backpack so I can better prepare for the next time I backpack”. Even with 30 years (plus) of backpacking, and a lot of that done by myself, I am still learning. Granted, most of my learning now involves trivial stuff or tweaking what I do now. This overnight trek was truly a big learning exception.
    The plan was for me to take Billy up to Deadfall Lakes trail head Monday evening:
    1. Spend Monday night sleeping in the van at the trail head.
    2. Since he was out of shape, me too, he was carrying a hair under 20 pounds of gear/food total in his packs. Since this was an overnighter, I didn’t need lots of gear anyway.
    3. Leave the next morning for a gentle, cool weather walk to the middle Deadfall Lakes.
    4. I picked this trail/destination because it was only 2.5 miles long, and only had a 250’ elevation gain over the 2.5 miles.
    5. Spend the afternoon relaxing, tossing sticks into the lake for Squeaky to chase, have a good night sleep, take some pictures the next morning, pack up and walk out.
    A perfectly “mapped” out way to have a bit of exercise, see some beautiful high elevation country, and come home with my first of the year “backpack fix”.

Because of the above schedule (1 night out, 2.5 miles of gentle trail, him carrying under 20 pounds of weight, I knew he wouldn’t be stressed, so I didn’t bother to take any cob as an energy supplement for him. Typically, I take enough cob to feed him 2 cups a day for each day we are out.
    Now……………. As Paul Harvey would say, “The rest of the story”: