No announcement yet.

Equipment upgrades for the new year...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Equipment upgrades for the new year...

Since its next year, already (and its too cold right now to do much) I figure its time to go over equipment and do the refresh, restock and modify thing.

Since late last fall i have been playing with a 50 Amp hour Ampere Time lithium phosphate battery (got it relatively cheap on sale).
    Its main purpose is to replace the little, nearly dead, 20+ pound 35 amp hour sealed lead acid camping battery that I have been using for the last 8 years or so.

Click image for larger version  Name:	batt w invert.jpg Views:	0 Size:	49.0 KB ID:	81752

While carrying the new 11 pound battery around I noticed that it is a bit awkward to move as it has no handle; so I decided to add one (setting up and breaking down camp often requires extensive carrying and being able to carry the battery comfortably & securely in one hand seems worth while.

Click image for larger version  Name:	Ampertime 50sh with handle  50  1 DSCF0350.jpg Views:	0 Size:	44.2 KB ID:	81751
    Accordingly I purchased a couple of Kayak handles from Amazon for a few bucks (not realizing how much work it would be to use them).
    I also purchased a roll of 1 Inch tubular strap and some Chicago screws (used in leather working).

If I were going to do it again, I would be tempted to make my own handle since thinning down the ends of the handle to fit inside the strap was way more work than it should have been,
    I reused the old 80 watt, modified, inverter (now obsolete) the best replacement for it seems to be the 150 watt Bestek inverter).

Since I use up to 3 outlets in camp I intend to add a couple below the front of the inverter ; for the ceiling light, the bug zapper and the floor lamp.

Is anyone else improving their gear, or did Santa bring any new (goodies/toys) gear?

Enjoy!
    Last edited by Happy Joe; 02-01-2022, 03:52 PM.