Liquid Fuel Stove Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Liquid Fuel Stove Question

I am new to camping and need some advice. The liquid fuel stoves seem to hold a fair amount of fuel. I have seen some posts that say maybe enough for 10 days of camping. Well my camping would be for only a couple of days and I am concerned about unused fuel. First off, does it go bad? Also, does it leak or spill out of the burners when driving with fuel in the stove tank or do I need to remove the fuel?

Anthony

Re: Liquid Fuel Stove Question

I've never used a liquid fuel stove but I do know that white gas is pretty much subject to the same degradation as the gas we use in our vehicles. It is a more refined product so I would figure it wouldn't go bad as fast, but I'd still be inclined not to let it sit around for months. Here's an online article on the subject: http://www.backpacker.com/gear/exper...e-fuel-go-bad/

And yes, you should disconnect the fuel bottle when transporting the stove.

Comment

Always empty your stove tank back into the Coleman can when you are done with your trip to prevent any lacquer formation (same goes for their lanterns) from other exposed parts which can damage your generator. Coleman fuel has a long shelf life of at least 5 years, as it's Petroleum Hydrocarbon Naptha and not gasoline - it contains none of the additives and doesn't come out of solution after a month like gas. I also use MSR fuel bottles for transport and storage, but the Coleman steel can is engineered for long-term storage of their fuel. You can get this same information right form Coleman products on their website.
      “People have such a love for the truth that when they happen to love something else, they want it to be the truth; and because they do not wish to be proven wrong, they refuse to be shown their mistake. And so, they end up hating the truth for the sake of the object which they have come to love instead of the truth.”