Help new camper please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help new camper please

Hi i live in portland oregon. I have no experience at all camping. I want to break away from my life and go be in solitude in the woods for as long as i can last in a decent way. I want to clear my mind. No cell or electronics. Id get a sattelite phone for emergency.
    Im open to REnting small RV but id prefer sleeping in a tent near by the ground and freah air is peaceful to me.
    Can someone give me a starter guide of what to buy and how to do this? im 28 slim i appear to be in decent shape but i really cant exert myself much. Im totally fine but i am healing from a brain injury. No alcohol no heavy exertion or 5 mike trecks.
    Can someone give me some pointers on how to survive with food? do i buy a bunch of frozen food and bring a small charcoal grill with maybe a propane option?
    I would appreciate it if someone could give me a basic guide. This solitude would really give me a healing peacefulness that is need to survive right now. I appreciate any advice. Thank you

Re: Help new camper please

Topping for responses
    “One could not be a successful scientist without realizing that, in contrast to the popular conception supported by newspapers and mothers of scientists, a goodly number of scientists are not only narrow-minded and dull, but also just stupid.” - James D. Watson

Comment

I am a novice camper so hopefully others will add to my comments. For car camping (driving in to your camp site):

1. A good tent
      2. Sleeping Bag (appropriate temp rating for your area)
      3. Food
      4. Water
      5. A decent Cooler
      6. A way to start and maintain a fire
      7. Weather appropriate clothing
      8. Good outdoor shoes
      9. Flashlight or Lantern