Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hammock sleepers?

We got any hammock users on here?

I have a Eno Double Nest hammock and Eno Slap Straps. The hammock is great, I got the slap straps used, I could a decent deal, but I would rather another suspension system. :cool:
    sigpic

Re: Hammock sleepers?

I have an eno double as well. I bought the slap straps, but moved on pretty quickly. I use mule tape for my suspension and ridge line. Mule tape is used to pull wire and cable and I am an electrician, so I come across it pretty easy. I know some guys use amsteel rope for their suspension. You can look for it on amazon or eBay. I use a marlin spike hitch to attach the hammock to the mule tape.
    If you want the best website for hammock camping, try www.hammockforums.net There are guys on there that have forgotten more than I know.
    Nights camped in 2019: 24
    Nights camped in 2018: 24

Comment

I've been on that forum, those guys are insane. I'm all about cool gear and technology, but they make my brain hurt with trying to save a fraction of an ounce. I read a post on there that went something like this...

"Well if you tied this knot, instead of that knot, you could easily cut about 4-5" off your length of cordage, saving you that weight".

I get the whole weight saving, a pound at the trailhead is 10 pounds at the top of the mountain, but at what point do we start slimming down zipper heads, shortening shoe laces, drilling holes into sunglasses frames, can we vaccum pack food in helium?

Great source of knowledge but a few members take it that extra mile that is just to far! :cool:
      sigpic

Comment