Cabins

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cabins

Ok, this might be slightly off topic but Mike posted in another thread about his crazy love for winter camping where he has to sled into the arctic circle (hehe just kidding you Mike)

And it made me think of a dream my brother and I have been knocking around for a few years to buy some land and build a cabin.

Has anyone here done anything like this?
    “I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority.”
    – E. B. White

Re: Cabins

It is not difficult to build a simple cabin without plumbing - of course, you have the electricity part under control, James.

Building cabins used to be a pretty popular thing to do back in the 1960's and 1970's and there were many books and magazines dedicated to it. There were "end of the world" folks then too who wanted to be self sufficient when TSHF. Of course, a lot of those folks are driving fifth wheels and cashing in on their 401K about now....

Anyway, if you like camping, think twice about having a cabin. Every camper I knew who bought a cabin no longer camps because they spend there weekends doing maintanance and yardwork at their cabin and then the next weekend at their home, then the next weekend working at their cabin...