canteen cup lid

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• canteen cup lid

Hi, I'm new to camping...haven't even made my first trip yet...busy buying all the gear...(not easy with a baby on the way mind you...) and I keep seeing these canteen cup lids all over the place...these confuse me because the canteen cup is all about convenience...it tucks onto your canteen untill you need it...barely even exists...but this lid...i cant think of a good way to stow it when not in use on the canteen...this goes for both the rubber(drinking) and steel(straining) varieties... :confused:

My question is this: Could someone please tell me what I'm missing?? Is there a good way to stow this conveniently or do you sacrifice the convenience and riffle through your main pack for the lid in which case i think your better off just grabbing your mess kit... :confused:

Also is there a good place to get military issue canteen cups and stove stands?? I made the mistake of going through "Sentry Tactical"...their advert made it seem like I was buying military grade gear...instead I got mismatched MiC(Made in China) gear... :(

(side note: is there an alternate board theme that i can use where text boxes are more visible?? all this white with no break is killing my eyes)

Re: canteen cup lid

Welcome to camping and our little forum!

I like using Military Surplus gear too, as I am ex-military.
    Brigade Quartermasters is a top-notch shop to get the 'real deal' from......

http://www.brigadeqm.com/cgi-bin/tam...tore/index.tam

Their canteen gear......

http://www.brigadeqm.com/store/qsear...?query=canteen

Hope you find what you need here.

Basically, I just use the plastic canteen, the stainless steel cup (which the canteen nests inside) and the nylon cover pouch. I use the KISS method of camp cooking - it all goes into the SS cup and gets heated. My worst problem is keeping the oblong-shaped canteen cup stable on most small camping stoves.