Tent Recommendation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tent Recommendation

For years I have been camping with my parents' old tent. After a camping through a rough storm at Wyalusing State Park (WI) and waking up soaking wet, I would like to upgrade to new tent.

I am looking for a 2-3 person tent that has a full coverage rainfly, but I am not even sure where to start looking. I've browsed online and in some stores looking for one, but I am very hesitant to buy without knowing for sure that what I am getting is good. I want something that will not only keep me dry, but also last me a long time. Quality is key.

My budget isn't very high considering that I am a student. So if possible, I'd like to keep it at or under $250

Can anyone recommend some quality tents? Or a place where I could find them???

Re: Tent Recommendation

We have the Mountainsmith Morrison 2. We purchased it after reading a review on Backpacker Magazine. We are very happy with this tent, it is well made, fairly light weight and easy to set up.

http://mountainsmith.com/morrison-2.html

Comment

Originally posted by Denni2 View Post
      We have the Mountainsmith Morrison 2. We purchased it after reading a review on Backpacker Magazine. We are very happy with this tent, it is well made, fairly light weight and easy to set up.

http://mountainsmith.com/morrison-2.html
      Looks nice! And well within my price range How is the floor in this one? Is it waterproof? Or would you recommend a tarp underneath? Thank you

Comment

I'm happy with ozark trail tents from Walmart. Work well for us.

Comment

I was recently in your exact shoes. I ended up with a 4man slumberjack(great price on groupon) and a 3man coleman hooligan. I did allot of reviewing on youtube and amazon before making my decision. Strongly recommend those sources even if you don't purchase through amazon.

Comment