Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pop-Up Tents

Hi there!
    I'm new to the forum and new to solo camping.

I'm looking to spend most of my summer vacation (I'm a teacher) hiking and camping. For the most part, it will just be my dog and myself but I might have a companion every so often. Basically, I'm looking for a 1-2 person tent.

I'm considering a pop-up tent because although I can hold my own, I'm 5'2, 120 pounds and not sure I can wrestle with a bunch of poles by myself. I have searched the forum for posts on pop-up tents but haven't been able to find any.

SO, my question is: any advice on pop-up tents? Yay or nay? Brands? Styles? Things to look for? I would like to stay under $150. Or am I totally off the mark consider this?

Re: Pop-Up Tents

Bump to bring OP question to the top so it's not buried.

I don't know much about instant tents as I do not own one. I would stay away from a 1 person tent (esp if you're bringing a dog). The weight savings between a 1 and 2 person tent isn't generally that much and you'll appreciate the extra space inside, even as a solo camper.

I would add that pitching a 2P/3P backpacking tent, even with separate poles, is a skill that can be mastered easily-no wrestling required. Most poles on smaller "backpacking" style tents are hubbed, reducing the number of separate poles floating around in the bag down to 2 or 3.

If you are car camping with a dog (and not backpacking your gear), you may want to consider sizing up to a 3 or even 4 person tent. It will give you some spread out space in the tent. You'll find that non-instant tents weigh less and pack into a smaller size package if that plays a part in your considerations.
    2020: 7 nights 2019: 5 nights 2018: 20 nights 2017: 19 nights 2016: 20 nights
    Spring->Fall: Marmots: Limestone 6P and 4P, Stormlight 3P, Tungsten 3P; SlumberJack Trail Tent 6P, BA Yahmonite 5P