whats the best cot for camping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• whats the best cot for camping

Im just getting into camping probably will go sometime this winter in Florida somewhere as that is where we live. we're both seniors and would like to know what are the best cots. we were actually looking at the camptime rollacots as we only have a car so trying to conserve as mush space as possible.

Re: whats the best cot for camping

For long life the military style cots are hard (to sleep on) and hard to beat (to death)... and fairly compact; BUT can be difficult to assemble especially the first time.

I found the inexpensive Ozark trail/Walmart accordion style, with air mattress, cots to be relatively compact and relatively fragile (although mine lasted for about 4 to 6 years before the air mattress became unrepairable).

I was given a Coleman "comfort smart" folding cot (the one with springs around the edges) and can say that although it is heavy awkward and far from compact; it is more comfortable than the military style.
    http://www.coleman.com/product/comfo...2#.VkSpGuTn9pg

I recommend a thick ~ 3" foam pad for cots... much more comfortable and can't leak.

Enjoy!
    Last edited by Happy Joe; 11-12-2015, 09:08 AM.
    2006 Jeep Rubicon, TJ; 4.11 gears, 31" tires, 4:1 transfer case, lockers in both axles
    For DD & "civilized" camping; 2003 Ford explorer sport, 4wd; ARB & torsen diffs, 4.10 gears, 32" MTs.
    Ground tents work best for me, so far.
    Experience along with properly set up 4WD will get you to & through places (on existing, approved 4WD trails) that 4WD, alone, can't get to.

Comment

I have the Coleman Ridgeline which is very similar to the Deluxe that Happy Joe mentioned. Mine has a 225lb capacity, has the mattress, and fits easily in there trunk of my car.
      I have hip issues, and could not tent camp if it wasn't for this cot. Mine was $60 at Walmart. You can see the mattress in the picture.
      Attached Files