Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Total Newbie: Want to go out with 3 other friends. What tent should I buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total Newbie: Want to go out with 3 other friends. What tent should I buy?

Me and 3 other friends (all in our early 40s), want to start going out (car) camping. Once each 2 months or about 6 times a year.

We have absolutely no experience camping, but like I said we want to start doing it. The idea is to have a great "macho" time, to drink some wiskey, look at the stars and maybe even fish (we don't know either how to do it).

We live in Bogota, Colombia, so the climate is between autumn, spring and summer, and depending on where we camp, it can be a little bit rainy.

We want to be able to fit 4 comfortably, with the option of adding additional 4 if needed. So at first I thought of a single 8~10 persons tent, but reading the forum it might even be two 4~5 person tents.

Looking at amazon, this is the list of tents i believe that might be for us:

Coleman Red Canyon http://amzn.com/B000W7BHJ
    Mountain Trails Grand Pass http://amzn.com/B003R7PU6W
    Coleman Evanston 8 Screened Tent http://amzn.com/B004E4ERIY
    Wenzel Great Basin http://amzn.com/B002PAWK7O
    Coleman 14x10 Foot 8 Person Instant Tent http://amzn.com/B003QUT9OE

The Evanston seems to be a little bit on the small side and is the least appealing for that. All but the last Coleman seem to be ready for rain.

The coleman instant tent looks very easy to assemble, but it is the most expensive one and I need to spend 50 more on the rain cover. Also, it looks like it is very heavy (60 pounds).

Also, on AMAZON (which is the only store that allows me to buy using my international cc), there are 8 people tents for about 400~600 dollars. What is the difference between this 400~600 dollar tents and the 100~200 dollars ones?

Anyway, considering our needs, what would you recommend? THANKS!