Problems With Roof Top tents

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems With Roof Top tents

Looking to start a project. does anyone have common problems with their car top tents/ tow behind trailer tents.
    all ideas welcome.
    thanks

Re: Problems With Roof Top tents

Originally posted by smorr View Post
    Looking to start a project. does anyone have common problems with their car top tents/ tow behind trailer tents.
    all ideas welcome.
    thanks
    What is the project? I made a tent for the bed of my truck out of a poly tarp and electrical conduit.
    “I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority.”
    – E. B. White

Comment

maybe i dont understand
      which one is it?
      rooftop tents? i have no experience
      tow behind? like a pop up?
      pop ups problems are replacement canvas can be expensive, +$800 DIY kits
      also mechanism that pops it up often fails, not uncommon to see people with 2x4's propping up their pop up tents

Comment

I've done the popup thing twice. Never again. Too many moving parts to keep working. The thing I most hated was having to tuck all the canvas in just right so I could get the top to latch properly. That inevitably lead to a couple of latches pulling out of the body of the trailer. Never had the lift mechanism fail entirely, but I did have a couple of cables stretch which made the top go up crooked. Then there was the door grommet that got wrinkled which made it a pain to put together, the fold down step that rusted, the bed support that broke, the bed track that for some reason didn't like to extend all the way, a few broken zippers on windows, dry rot windows, holes in the canvas, a leveling leg that wouldn't latch properly, ...

Comment